Monumenta artis musicae Sloveniae



General Editor:

Metoda Kokole


Editorial Board:
Klemen, Grabnar, Metoda Kokole, Domen Marinčič


International Advisory Board:

Tomaž Faganel (Ljubljana), Aleš Nagode (Ljubljana), Michael Talbot (Liverpool), Ennio Stipčević (Zagreb)



The main publishing focus of the Institute is on critical academic publications of the monuments of Slovenian music in the series Monumenta artis musicae Sloveniae (MAMS). Selections in the anthology include compositions dating from the Renaissance to the present. Fifty-eight editions of the main series plus four volumes of Supplementa have been published since 1983. The bilingual collection is compiled by researchers and external collaborators of the Institute, along with other invited authors.

The Institute of Musicology  publishes the series with financial support of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Slovenia and the Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts, and in collaboration with the music setting company AccordiA d.o.o.

The series includes the entire monumental opus of Jacobus Handl – Gallus (22 volumes), and opera omnia by a number of earlier composers whose works are part of the Slovenian musical heritage: Wolfgang Striccius, Gabriel Plavec [Plautzius] and Janez Krstnik Novak (all published in single volumes),  Daniel Lagkhner, Jakob Frančišek Zupan andJurij [Georg] Prenner (2 volumes each), Isaac Posch (4 volumes), Janez Krstnik Dolar (5 volumes) and Gabriello Puliti (7 volumes). Published within the Monumenta artis musicae Sloveniae were also volumes with selected compositions by Amandus Ivančič (2 volumes), Leopold Ferdinand Schwerdt, Venceslav Wratny (both composers have 3 volumes each), František Josef Benedikt Dusík (1 volume), Matej Babnik (1 volume) and Benjamin Ipavec (1 volume). Publication of the opus of these composers will continue.  Volumes 51, 83, and 58 are dedicated to Giacomo Gorzanis as the first out of six planned volumes of his opera omnia containing all preserved works by this composer.  Planned is also a secondary series for the publication of selected works of composers form the 19th up to the beginning of the 20th century.

The first editor of the collection was Dragotin Cvetko. The co-editor during the years 1986–1993 was Danilo Pokorn, who after 1993 edited the collection himself. Ivan Klemenčič was the chief editor from 1996 to 2004 and Tomaž Fanagel from 2005 to 2008. In 2009 Metoda Kokole has been nominated for that position. For the edition of the opera omnia by Giacomo Gorzanis was appointed an international editorial boards that supervise the editions and consult with the authors.  


Press conference in 2005 when two volumes of Gabriello Pulti's opera omnia (44 and 46) were presented by the memberes of the international editorial board. From left to right: M. Kokole, T. Faganel, B. Bujić, E. Stipčević, and I. Cavallini. 

So far the following scholars have transcribed and prepared volumes for publication in the series Monumenta artis musicae Sloveniae: Alenka Bagarič (2), Matjaž Barbo (1), Bojan Bujić (1 volume alone and one together with E. Stipčević), Ivano Cavallini (1), Nataša Cigoj Krstulović (1), Mirko Cuderman (1), Marc Desmet (1 together with M. Motnik), Tomaž Faganel (5), Metoda Kokole (6), Zoran Krstulović (3 volumes alone and one together with A. Nagode), Uroš Lajovic (1), Nikola Lovrinić (2), Domen Marinčič (1), Marko Motnik (2 and one together with M. Desmet), Aleš Nagode (3 volumes and one together with  Z. Krstulović), Danilo Pokorn (2), Jože Sivec (4), Ennio Stipčević (1 volume alone and one together with B. Bujić), Radovan Škrjanc (2), Edo Škulj (20) and Bor Zuljan (1).

Press conference on 17 June 2008 when volumes 50, 51 and 52 as wellas the lattest numbers of the journal De musica disserenda  were presented.  From left to right: T. Faganel, M. Kokole, A. Bagarič, M. Barbo and 2 musicians (pupils of Music school Ljubljana Vič Rudnik) who performed a couple of villanellas by G. Gorzanis.

The collection is marketed in Slovenia and abroad by the Založba ZRC (ZRC Publishing).

You can order volumes of MAMS by printing and fulfiling this order form (PDF).


Separate compositions

The Institute of Musicology issues also separate numbered copies of compositions published in the collective volumes of the series Monumenta artis musicae Sloveniae. The price of a copy varies according to the length of each composition, i.e. the number of pages.

Please send orders or further queries to the Institutte of Musicology: